Prof. Saulo has been the Director of the National Meteorological Service of Argentina since 2014 and is currently the First Vice-President of WMO. She will take office on 1 January 2024 and succeeds Prof Petteri Taalas, who has completed his two-term mandate.

Prof. Saulo was appointed after receiving the requisite two-thirds majority of votes from delegates at the quadrennial World Meteorological Congress, the top decision-making body of the 193-Member WMO.

Prof. Saulo pursued a career in academia: she combined her calling for science and teaching with university management and the connection of scientific research with the needs of society.

At the National Meteorological Service of Argentina, she promoted substantive organizational changes, based on a management that strives for concrete results, meets social demands, articulates at national, regional, and international levels, and cultivates equity, inclusion, and mutual respect.

The next WMO President will be Dr. Abdulla Al Mandous Director General of the National Center of Meteorology, United Arab Emirates Permanent Representative of UAE, and President of the WMO Regional Association for Asia. He received the majority of votes during the presidential elections. Daouda Konate (Cote d’Ivoire) was elected First Vice-President, Eoin MORAN (Ireland) Second Vice-President, and  Dr Mrutyunjay Mohapatra (India) Third Vice-President. A new Executive Council was also elected.

The World Meteorological Organization is the United Nations System’s authoritative voice on Weather, Climate, and Water. The WMO was established by the Convention of the World Meteorological Organization, signed on 11 October 1947 and ratified on 23 March 1950. The Convention serves as the constituent treaty of the WMO, setting forth its purposes, governance, and general framework.

According to the wmo