Bratislava, historically known as Preßburg (Pressburg), is the capital and largest city of Slovakia. It is located at the confluence of the Danube and Morava rivers, on the southern tip of the Carpathian Mountains.

Bratislava is a historic city with a rich cultural heritage. The Old Town is home to many medieval buildings, including the Bratislava Castle, the Primatial Palace, and the Michael’s Gate. The city also has a number of museums, theaters, and art galleries.

Bratislava is the only national capital in the world that borders two sovereign states: Austria to the west and Hungary to the south. There are a few other capital cities that are located near the borders of other countries, but none of them actually border two countries. For example, the capital of Belgium, Brussels, is located just 15 kilometers from the border with France, but the border does not actually go through the city. Similarly, the capital of Luxembourg, Luxembourg City, is located just 20 kilometers from the border with Germany, but the border does not actually go through the city.

Bratislava’s location on the borders of Austria and Hungary has played an important role in its history. The city has been controlled by both Austria and Hungary at different times, and it was also the capital of the Austro-Hungarian Empire from 1867 to 1918. Today, Bratislava is a major economic and cultural center in Central Europe.